A Great Beginning…

August 2, 2009 at 9:05 pm (Uncategorized)

Photo 49Tonight we had a great time during our Quad Time.  From the enthusiasm in the worship to the powerful times of prayer, it was neat to see another chance for the Holy Spirit to start a new, fresh work.  From afar, it seems like camp is a formulaic experience.  In other words, if we do certain things then the impact will just happen, no matter what.  Some may feel that way, but I certainly don’t.  I never want to put God into a box of expecting him to do what I want to see him do.  He is God.  He is the one who has the power to change every life in a real way.  Not me.  Not the worship.  Not the great leaders.  Him.

That’s why tonight is another start to something special.  I don’t know where it will head from here, but I do know if God is in it it will be unique and in His timing.

Another neat thing I wanted to share happened at our Leader Meeting.  This year I didn’t sense that we should do an 8th grade challenge like we have done the last couple of years.  I strongly encouraged the leaders to challenge their kids and see what God would do.  During the meeting the 8th grade leaders expressed that their students mentioned that they felt like it wasn’t fair that they didn’t get a planned challenge experience like last year.  Although a very valid concern, I wanted to have the leaders put it back on the students.  If God is prompting them to do a challenge, have them form it and execute it.  I wanted the leaders to help guide those special kids to rise up in leadership, which is what their concern came from.  That being said, I don’t know what they are going to do, but tonight those leaders are going to be doing something special with their cabins so please pray about what comes from it.  I will report later about what they end up doing.

Pastor Mark

3 Comments

  1. Kathy McNeff said,

    Thanks Pastor Mark for undating us on what is happening. May God bless each of you as you lead the kids towards Jesus. May your hearts feel his peace and blessing!

  2. Artie Aldridge said,

    Paster Mark,

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for this site and keeping those at home connected.

    Camp never seemed to be so much fun when I was a kid. I am glad to know that my daughter initiated the desire to attend this year. What a great place for kids to get connected to Christ!

    Sincerely,
    Artie Aldridge (mom of Alex Aldridge)

  3. corneliaseigneur said,

    I like the words, Not putting God in a box! – so true and so important – and I also like how you are giving the 8th graders the chance to have a say – flexibility is key

    praying for the week, for growth, for soft hearts, for connection, that all kids will feel a sense of belonging in the body of Christ-

    Thanks again – nellie seigneur
    http://www.corneliaseigneur.com

Leave a comment