Awkward Transitions with Jen

August 4, 2009 at 7:49 am (Uncategorized)

Photo 55

So I am finally sitting down to write.  Camp is off and running and it has been amazing so far.

First, I got the great privilege of riding the bus in very warm conditions that cause you to stick to the seats:) But, we all arrived safe and sound.  In fact it was so smooth that at one point I was worried we may arrive at camp too early.

Yesterday was also great.  I got to see students engage with morning worship, hear all about great morning small groups from the leaders, and send off campers to a variety of free time activities.  There is so much to do that we will send each student home very tired.

One of my roles at camp is to give announcements.  And after a very powerful time of worship, Mark’s real and hard hitting message, and more worship, I got to get up and say insignificant things…we call this time “Awkward Transitions with Jen.”  How do you transition to instructions on games without awkwardness?  In fact, the students seem to get a kick out of it.  As they see me approach the stage they yell out, “awkward transitions with Jen!”  It helps ease the moment of tension I feel.

So last night before I gave my announcements about sign ups and med call, I said, “God is good.”  And they said, “All the time!”  God is good and He is all the time.  He is doing great things and it is such a joy to be a part of it all.

Filling the void with akwardness,

Jen

PS:  D and Miss M, I miss you and love you very much!

1 Comment

  1. Olivia's parents (Larry & Anna) said,

    Your gig is so necessary and ETREMELY appreciated. 🙂

Leave a comment