The Face Of Fear

August 6, 2009 at 10:02 am (Uncategorized)

face of fear 01Control is a funny thing.  When you have it, it takes a lot of worry away.  When you don’t have it, your confidence can be shaken to the point of panic.  Another thought I had is that being in control can make dependence much more difficult.  A lesson I learned yesterday in a whole new way.

Yesterday I rode a triple tube for the first time ever here at camp.  Although I have driven numerous kids and family members to feats of wild crashing and high speed corners, I didn’t truly empathize with my many passengers.  However, when I got on that tube, all my bravery melted away.  I was full of fear.  I wish I wasn’t, but I was afraid and not in control of the boat.  I wasn’t in control of the waves.  I wasn’t in control of the other tube.  I was just out there, in the hands of God and the driver.  And believe me, the 10 minutes I was riding were the longest 10 minutes of my life.  A couple of times the tube launched into the air and I quickly thought that might be the time I get tossed off and thrown all over the other students.  But that didn’t happen.  I went sliding quickly over the side of the wake on a high speed corner and fully expected to go so fast that the tube roll, but it didn’t.  Finally it ended and I was truly finished with riding.  I was one and done with regard to tubing, but I did have a good time.

All my fears may have been realized if I would have had a major crash(I can now sympathize with what happened to Jen and Kate), but I didn’t.  I wasn’t in control and I made it.  The next day and no one remembers my ride, but I do.  It will stick in my memory for the rest of my life.  It gave me an understanding of the relationship between control and dependence in a whole new way.  God is so great in how he teaches us these lessons in the various events and ordinariness of real life.  I love the God of the impossible because he is also the God of the little things too!

Pastor Mark

2 Comments

  1. Rhonda Began said,

    You truly look terrified! You make me laugh. Now you know how I felt this summer when you were saying how slow we were driving but the tube was so out of control. Glad you put yourself out there.

  2. Rhonda Began said,

    Hey Honey,
    Sorry I missed your phone call. Glad Jen and Kate are okay….scarey! I will be home tonight and tomorrow morning. Miss you- praying for tonight.

Leave a comment