Sacrificing Today For Tomorrow

January 24, 2010 at 4:55 pm (Uncategorized)

Recently I have been wrestling with some big questions that have a future bent to them.  You know, the stuff that keeps people up at night.  I’ve been wondering if we can afford college for my daughter who is on the brink of getting there this Fall.  Wondering if I am too old to be a pastor to Junior High students.  Over-thinking why I need to know what is unknowable is another area I grapple over.

But here’s the kicker, when my focus is beyond today I’m only guessing.  My attention is elsewhere and I lose today as a result.  By looking ahead I lose the possibilities that God put in front of me today.  How many times have I neglected to spend quality time with my daughter today because I was worried about something that MIGHT happen tomorrow or the next week or the next month…well, you get the picture.

Don’t miss out on the eternal blessing of speaking into our kid’s lives while we still have opportunity.  Don’t wait for tomorrow to come, do it today.  Find the sweet spot of God’s divine appointments for you to have with your child and don’t forget these great verses from Matthew 6:33-34, “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.  Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

In His Service,

Pastor Mark

Leave a comment